Creative Slumps

Everyone goes through them, I know. I’ve been the victim of a million different creative slumps. Whether it’s with photography, writing, drawing, you name it, there comes that “block”. Not everyone can be productive 24/7. Not everyone has the capability of producing “good” work all the time. And by good, I mean to the artists’ eyes.

When I’m in these kinds of slumps, I tend to want to ask others for help. But I feel that I shouldn’t. I don’t feel that it’s their job to guide me to do what I do best. That’s my job. Although I might want help, I don’t need it. Not saying that help is a bad thing. If you need help, by all means, take it, get some. But for me, I don’t take it. At least not with photography. And that’s because like I said earlier, it’s not their job.

I believe that the “audience” should view the work, comment on the work, and who knows, possibly even buy it, too. But I don’t think that they, unless asked by the artist, should say “You should do this!” Though there’s absolutely no problem with opinions, in fact, I love to hear them! And if someone tells me something along the lines of, “Well, you should do _______”, I take it into consideration. I’ve produced many excellent photos because of my Dad saying, “Well, why don’t you shoot from this angle?”

So, the point I’m trying to get to is that help is a wonderful thing for anyone! It’s just that sometimes, as an artist, I feel like I shouldn’t take it. Like it’s not their problem to deal with, and that I can do it.

Maybe I’m looking at it wrong, I don’t know. But leave your comments and tell me what you all think! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

