Goals and Dreams

I remember, getting older, and having assignments about what we wanted to be when we grew up. I used to always have the biggest dreams, or the craziest goals. I won’t go into detail about what exactly they were, but there were some that were pretty weird for a 12 or 13 year old.

Since then, my goals have changed. Not because people have told me to change them, though. I just felt that I’ve “out-grown” them. No more crazy, “I want to be a firefighter on the moon” type things. (Not that I ever had that dream, just using it as an example.) And by “out-growing” them, I’ve found what I really want.

But I remember, when I did have those crazier dreams, that all the time, people would tell me, “You can’t do that.” “You’re never going to make it.” Or something along those lines. For a while, I did give up on my dreams, and I felt like I was going nowhere, even at such a young age. I even remember in a class, saying what my dreams were, and just listening to the roar of laughter that proceeded my speech of my deepest goals. It was heartbreaking.

But I never gave up because of others. I don’t think I ever “gave up” on them. I just moved on. So always remember, don’t give up on your dreams and goals, because someday you might end up becoming what you wanted. It will be worth it, if you just keep at it!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

